LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

16 MARCH 2020

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent, Lister and

Graham Thomas

30 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

No apologies for absence were received for this meeting.

31 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were made in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct.

COUNCILLOR	ITEM & SCHOOL	TYPE OF INTEREST
Councillor Lister	6b – Grangetown	Personal Interest as
	Nursery School	applicant is a Ward
		Colleague
Councillor Merry	6b - Gladstone Primary	Personal Interest as
	School	applicant is a Ward
		Colleague
Councillor Driscoll	6b – Eastern High	Personal & Prejudicial
	School	as application is known
		to me.

32 : MINUTES

The minutes of the last meeting of the Panel on 26 November were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairperson.

33 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of Local Authority School Governor vacancies was received and noted.

34 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the public be excluded for the following items of business as they contained exempt information by virtue of paragraph 12 of Part 4 and paragraph 21 of Part 5 of Schedule 12A Local Authority Government Act 1972.

35 : EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies aginst criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies detailed as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	PROPOSED APPOINTMENT
Birchgrove Primary School	Heath	10/12/2019	Christine Salter
Cantonian High School	Fairwater	04/09/2019	Rosie Mellors
Greenhill School	Rhiwbina	01/02/2020	Mark Thomas
Llysfaen Primary School	Lisvane	25/09/2019	Nick Barber
Marlborough Primary School	Penylan	05/02/2020	Onur Tosun
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	06/11/2019	Marc Goudeau
Pentrebane Primary School	Fairwater	07/12/2019	Helen Gorman
St Mary's Catholic Primary School	Riverside	08/11/2019	Cllr Caro Wild
Thornhill Primary School	Llanishen	10/06/2019	Nick Middleton
Ton-Yr-Ywen Primary School	Heath	21/012020	Rebecca Chamberlain
Whitchurch Primary School	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	27/11/2019	Cllr Mia Rees
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	02/12/2018	Siân Cately
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Plasmawr	Fairwater	06/11/2019	Mair Parry-Jones
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	27/11/2019	Mair Parry-Jones

36 : FUTURE LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governor vacancies as detailed below:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	RE- APPOINTMENT REQUESTED	NEW APPLICATION RECEIVED
Birchgrove Primary School	Heath	22/06/2020	Cllr Graham Hinchey	
Cardiff High School	Cyncoed	27/5/2020	Miriam Norton	
Eastern High School	Trowbridge	27/05/2020	Paul Gorin	
Gabalfa Primary School	Llandaff North	27/05/2020	Richard Norton	

Gladstone Primary School	Cathays	22/06/2020	Cllr Chris Weaver	
Grangetown Nursery School	Grangetow n	18/05/2020	Cllr Lynda Thorne	
Pen-y-Bryn Primary School	Llanrumne y	27/05/2020	Paul Stock	
St Francis RC Primary School	Ely	27/05/2020	Irene Humphries	
Ton Yr Ywen Primary School	Heath	22/06/2020	Cllr Graham Hinchey	
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	27/05/2020	Irene Humphries	
Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Canton	27/05/2020		Manon George
Ysgol Y Wern	Llanishen	27/05/2020	Margaret Kemp	

37 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

No urgent items were tabled.

38 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next scheduled meeting of the Local Authority Governor Panel is on Monday 15 June 2020.

The meeting terminated at 5.40 pm